FCC Votes on Net Neutrality Rules

Written by John Ponio    Wednesday, 22 December 2010 14:48

FCC Logo

So yesterday the FCC voted on Net Neutrality rules, and here are the results: three democratic commissioners for, two republican commissioners against. Not even all of the three commissioners who voted for were totally for it, though. Many said if they could they would have changed some things. Mignon L. Clyburn, who voted for the rules, said she would have liked to change things such as prohibiting pay-for-priority practices all out and extending fixed-line broadband rules to mobile broadband rules. She also noted that she wasn't even sure that the rules were legal. Robert McDowell, who voted against the rules, stated his strong opposition: "Today, the Commission is choosing to ignore the recent past as it attempts the same act. In so doing, the FCC is not only defying a court, but it is circumventing the will of a large, bipartisan majority of Congress as well. More than 300 members have warned the agency against exceeding its legal authority. The FCC is not Congress. We cannot make laws. Legislating is the sole domain of the directly elected representatives of the American people. Yet the majority is determined to ignore the growing chorus of voices emanating from Capitol Hill in what appears to some as an obsessive quest to regulate at all costs."