Every browser now has a ‘Private Browsing’ feature. What does it do? Private browsing will stop any data from being stored on your computer by websites that you visit. This data includes things like browsing history, form data, cookies, authentication names and passwords, and temporary internet files. It won’t stop websites from tracking your initial visit, but it will keep your information private if your computer is being used by multiple people. It doesn’t take any configuration to browse in private mode, unless you want to select certain data to allow. Here is how to do it on every mainstream browser:
Firefox 4 Private Browsing
Click on “Start Private Browsing” on the orange Firefox dropdown menu.
Hotkey: Ctrl + Shift + P
Read more to see how to do it in other browsers.